Wireless Networking Problem [Solved 2.5 years later]

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Wireless Networking Problem [Solved 2.5 years later]

Post#1 » 15 Aug 2012, 10:34

Hello all,

I recently moved house, and in doing so, I had to get a new modem and internet and all that (the old, awesome one stayed at the family home :(). Anyways, there's no phone port in the second bedroom, where my PC is. So I want to connect it wirelessly to the modem/router which is approx. 7m away. Cannot for the life of me figure it out, networking is my strongest downfall when it comes to computers. I would think that any router would be able to broadcast a signal 7m... which got me thinking it might be my PC. So here are the specs:

-Router - Netcomm NB16WV
-Wireless network adapter - Atheros AR9485

Not sure if anything else hardware should affect it. Running a big ass LAN cable through my kitchen at the moment to get internets. Any ideas on how to fix the wireless problem? Sometimes I see the signal, it's weak though, only 3 bars, and when I try to connect (putting in the password correctly etc) it says it can't connect, then the network disappears.

Upgraded the firmware on my router and my network adapter without success. PC is like 2 months old too so this is pretty annoying.

Thanks friends

Simon

Edit: [Solution]

... Believe it or not, I solved this the other week. The antenna that plugs into my motherboard wasn't plugged in! Haha, because that's a thing. Went 2 years without, also spent $100 with the PoE thing. Completely forgot about that antenna from when I built the PC, until I built one for my brother recently, sparked the brilliance! Thought I'd post the solution just in case anyone else is having a similar issue. Will also edit first post.
Last edited by simonsmp on 08 Jan 2015, 19:53, edited 1 time in total.
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
Rhianwynn
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 107

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#2 » 15 Aug 2012, 10:41

You might need to check your settings on your router (by logging into it's IP through a browser generally depending what brand it is).

This could involve ports, mac address permissions, random or static IPs given out by the router...

If you still have the router manual (which you should even though you men don't read manuals) it might have some info on setting up wireless network IPs. Also should make sure you have a wireless password and all that.

There is probably nothing wrong with the router or your network card, you just need to set them up so they talk to each other the right way. :)

Just did a quick google search and these are some set-up guides for your router:

For setting up wireless: http://media.netcomm.com.au/public/assets/pdf_file/0007/89089/WSG-NB16WV.pdf

For setting up wireless security: http://media.netcomm.com.au/public/assets/pdf_file/0003/89103/WSG-Security-NB16WV.pdf

And the website I found them on: http://support.netcomm.com.au/voip/nb16wv
Image

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#3 » 15 Aug 2012, 11:05

Went through all those steps, without success. The router only came with this crappy 2 page booklet thing on the basics to connect to a network. Not much about the individual settings. A lot of the time my PC can't even see the network, and if they're not communicating in the right way, I'm not sure why :(. Still having trouble even identifying the network, either not seeing it or only getting 1-3 bars of signal strength. Also tried connecting manually to it without success. Which had me thinking the signal strength might be the issue, which I couldn't believe with the distance only being ~7m.

Also, looking on that site (thanks for that btw :)) I've tried a couple of other troubleshooters, like changing the channel of the router. Even when I see the network with 2 or 3 bars, I try connecting and get what's seen in the attached image.

Starting to think the only solution might be to get a range extender thing for like ~$50, but if that doesn't solve it then I'll be furious haha.

Edit: Just looked at the IEEE standard for 802.11n wifi, meant to have 70m approximate indoor range... Should not need a damn range extender!

Also, didn't attach. Fixed
Attachments
wifiprob.jpg
wifiprob.jpg (27.58 KiB) Viewed 2234 times
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
Rhianwynn
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 107

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#4 » 15 Aug 2012, 11:21

I wish I could be more help but I'm not a big networking wiz and I only really know a lot about Netgear routers. :(

The range should not be an issue at 7m so I would keep looking through the guides and see if there is anything else you can do... otherwise just get some cable clips for your wall and run the Ethernet up the walls across the ceiling edge. :P
Image

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#5 » 15 Aug 2012, 11:34

Rhianwynn wrote:I wish I could be more help but I'm not a big networking wiz and I only really know a lot about Netgear routers. :(

The range should not be an issue at 7m so I would keep looking through the guides and see if there is anything else you can do... otherwise just get some cable clips for your wall and run the Ethernet up the walls across the ceiling edge. :P


Haha thanks anyway :) Yeah been looking through, might give netcomm a call and see if it's their modem just being a piece of crap. In a rental house so have to be careful with the walls and cable clips, but a solution must be found within the week!
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
MJ
WoW Officer
WoW Officer
Posts: 7901
Contact:

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#6 » 15 Aug 2012, 11:37

Make sure this isn't enabled:

http://media.netcomm.com.au/public/asse ... NB16WV.pdf

Can any other devices connect to the router using wifi?
ImageImage

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#7 » 15 Aug 2012, 13:39

Yeah that's not enabled. My phone can see the network and get a strong signal strength, haven't tried connecting yet, only found that out just before I left for uni. Will see if it connects when I get home.
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#8 » 15 Aug 2012, 14:55

Update: My phone can connect to the wifi from my study... So there is something wrong with my adapter or PC? Ugh! Any other ideas?
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#9 » 15 Aug 2012, 15:00

Have you checked you dont have any super protective firewall / security programs like Kaspersky or Norton? They have been known be over zealous and block any incoming connections...

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Contact:

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#10 » 15 Aug 2012, 15:04

solution: Blue cable
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#11 » 15 Aug 2012, 15:26

Wish I could leave the blue cable the way it is, but it would really be preferable to get wireless working. Don't have any AV running, so I don't think that can be the problem, and checked in my firewall settings if there was anything about networking, without success. Still googling a million different phrases to try get a solution
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Contact:

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#12 » 15 Aug 2012, 16:07

What windows version? I know some adapters refuse to run properly in certain versions of windows.

If it all fails miserably you can get the ethernet over power doodads now that arent that bad.
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Rhianwynn
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 107

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#13 » 15 Aug 2012, 16:13

Kashak wrote:What windows version? I know some adapters refuse to run properly in certain versions of windows.

If it all fails miserably you can get the ethernet over power doodads now that arent that bad.


Ethernet over power is useful for renters, but not really worth it for 7 metres...
Image

User avatar
simonsmp
The Lightbringer
The Lightbringer
Posts: 3087

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#14 » 15 Aug 2012, 16:45

If it was my own house I would have hacked into the walls already to run cables here haha. Running Windows 7 64 bit, but unfortunately I have nothing to compare this to, haven't connected to a wireless network before I don't think, always just been ethernet.

How do those power over ethernet things work? Just had a look at them, do you just plug it into the powerpoint and an ethernet cable into that, and magically you get networking?
Add me on Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Simonsmp/
Simonsmp for Prime Minister
DPS Paladin!

User avatar
Rhianwynn
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 107

Re: Wireless Networking Problem

Post#15 » 15 Aug 2012, 16:53

simonsmp wrote:If it was my own house I would have hacked into the walls already to run cables here haha. Running Windows 7 64 bit, but unfortunately I have nothing to compare this to, haven't connected to a wireless network before I don't think, always just been ethernet.

How do those power over ethernet things work? Just had a look at them, do you just plug it into the powerpoint and an ethernet cable into that, and magically you get networking?


You plug one 'box' into your router and a power point, then the other box is plugged into any power point in the house and Ethernet cables come out of that to your devices.

It transfers the connection from Ethernet to the wiring in the house and then takes it out again through the power point essentially.
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Login  •  Register