Stupid Computers

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
User avatar
Thebigman
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2348
Contact:

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#31 » 02 Nov 2012, 18:52

Poor Sexro ... Come back to the game ... I miss you.
Image

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#32 » 02 Nov 2012, 19:37

yep issues.

Maybe it just is my card. Atleast one out of all those drivers I used should of worked :S

Full format etc

sigh.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#33 » 17 Dec 2012, 19:17

Mine decided to relapse and shit itself regularly.
Not just in GW2/ other games, but even in windows, just after you enter your password...

Read a few forums who recommended cleaning out all components and reseating the gpu in another slot, so gave it a try.

Massive amounts of dust n shit all through the machine, and the gpu had CHUNKS of dust in it.

Gave ita massive cleanout with compressed air and reseated and reassembled.

Have powered up and seems to be running ok, about to give GW2 a run for its money...

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#34 » 17 Dec 2012, 20:49

Mega ghey!

I love my case for that, dust doesn't go in/stay in.

I'm a bit worried that mine will relapse after a patch, or won't play some new game cause I can only use 1 driver version and that's it...... pretty fucking annoying.

I wonder if it's just something to do with our chipset or something? Ours are both different brands and very differently configured. Yet it's the same basic nvidia chip.... something is wrong with them that's for sure. going ATI next time and see how they go :S
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#35 » 17 Dec 2012, 23:33

Seems to be going pretty well...

Had a minor freeze once (for about 1-2 secs) then was fine...so far so good...

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#36 » 19 Dec 2012, 10:55

Been going strong.

Maybe it was just dust, or maybe switching it to another slot helped.

As a bonus my mate bought me a Sapphire HD 7850 2GB overclock GPU for my birthday (generous bastard!), so I'll prob move onto that..now I have to look at upgrading my mobo, cpu and ram... le sigh need more monies

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#37 » 19 Dec 2012, 11:32

what cpu and ram now?

grats on new card!
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#38 » 19 Dec 2012, 12:06

Secro wrote:what cpu and ram now?

grats on new card!


Only running a I7-950 (1st gen /shudder) with 6GB DDR3 which has been fine for the moment, however if I'm upgrading the mobo and CPU, seems silly to only run with such a limited amount of RAM...but if I do buy upgrades, it will cut into my PAX savings fund..so I am torn...

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#39 » 19 Dec 2012, 12:35

Meh, I'd just stick with that for now mate!
You could go another year easy!
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#40 » 19 Dec 2012, 13:34

Secro wrote:Meh, I'd just stick with that for now mate!
You could go another year easy!


I know..but i wants it!

Gonna try to hunt down the $40m lotto winner, see if i can get a christmas present :p

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#41 » 20 Dec 2012, 11:25

how is the card going fitz? (if you got it in yet?)
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#42 » 20 Dec 2012, 16:04

Secro wrote:how is the card going fitz? (if you got it in yet?)


Gonna put it in tonight I think. Old card has been running fine since I cleaned / moved it.

User avatar
Sovaka
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 105

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#43 » 20 Dec 2012, 16:26

I think my next computer build will be submerged in Mineral Oil and cooled entirely.

Dust can go fk itself and I hate the sound of loud fans.
Designing my own game still...
Codename: Planetarian
Aussie Genesis | Ogre3D Dev Thread

User avatar
Skidmark
The Patient
The Patient
Posts: 307

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#44 » 21 Dec 2012, 09:09

Just be sure to go wireless with as many peripherals as you can and any that you can't, make sure that the cords have bungs or sleeves of some sort on them otherwise oil will creep up along them until it gets all over the place. Mineral oil can be pretty fun otherwise, throw some little bobbing fish in there for shits and giggles and wait for peoples reactions.
=-=-=-=-=

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#45 » 29 Jan 2013, 14:53

Got a HD7950, now I get really fast artifacts on the screen (impossible to screenshot) every now and then.
I googled it and apparently it happens to most people with a HD7XXX series card ... yay

Even when I bought this thing i search on google for problems and couldn't find anything that people couldn't solve, but I didn't have "artifact" in the search and now i find it everywhere lol

Apparently the 13.2 AMD drivers will be addressing issues with GW2 so we'll see...
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

Return to “Tech Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Login  •  Register