Stupid Computers

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Stupid Computers

Post#1 » 21 Mar 2012, 20:31

I was playing SWTOR and just about to do some PVP then SWTOR just started re-loading the textures. Was like WTF, that is weird, but not unknow, 10 seconds later I was locked up while browsing one of the item vendors, which is odd as I've never had SWTOR or this computer need a force reboot at all since I built it....
I reboot it and after POST it says SMART not enabled (I have an SSD) so that is odd too.
I go back in to windows and load up SWTOR again and it locks up after 10 seconds on the character screen.
I reboot again and no SMART controller error this time so that is good.
Then my computer locks up before windows boots up.
So I restart and try and do windows memory test, but it sucks the cawk, so i run memtest86 from a bootable USB and it does a full pass after 30 mins no errors.... I reboot and log in again and normal in windows.

I looked at eventlog and the only non-usual error is that nvidia drivers crashed (would of been when SWTOR flashed the loading screen again)

Hopefully it doesn't happen again!!!

Update:
Played a few solid hours the other day and no crashes, though it locked up again tonight after 1 WF.
I notice that I got the SMART error after I restart after it locks up. That's all I got to go off! Apparently there is some issue with Sandforce based SSD and gigabyte mobos? Someone said upgrade BIOS in a random google search, so I've given it a go.... Let's hope it works!
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#2 » 22 Mar 2012, 07:20

Secro wrote:I was playing SWTOR and just about to do some PVP then SWTOR just started re-loading the textures. Was like WTF, that is weird, but not unknow, 10 seconds later I was locked up while browsing one of the item vendors, which is odd as I've never had SWTOR or this computer need a force reboot at all since I built it....
I reboot it and after POST it says SMART not enabled (I have an SSD) so that is odd too.
I go back in to windows and load up SWTOR again and it locks up after 10 seconds on the character screen.
I reboot again and no SMART controller error this time so that is good.
Then my computer locks up before windows boots up.
So I restart and try and do windows memory test, but it sucks the cawk, so i run memtest86 from a bootable USB and it does a full pass after 30 mins no errors.... I reboot and log in again and normal in windows.

I looked at eventlog and the only non-usual error is that nvidia drivers crashed (would of been when SWTOR flashed the loading screen again)

Its because you refuse to play on the aussie server.
Hopefully it doesn't happen again!!!

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#3 » 22 Mar 2012, 08:16

what
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#4 » 22 Mar 2012, 09:35

Secro wrote:what


Yeh so I have no idea why what I wrote didnt stick.

And now the momentum of the bazinga is lost.

These aren't the droids we're looking for.
Move along. Move along.

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Contact:

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#5 » 22 Mar 2012, 15:24

somethings about to go BZZZZZRT
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#6 » 22 Mar 2012, 15:39

I played for 3 hours straight after I got it all running again .... Might of just been nvidia drivers being shitty.

Oh well, use it till it actually stops then get new part :)
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fandin
High Overlord
High Overlord
Posts: 197

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#7 » 22 Mar 2012, 17:17

Rule One. Dont be shit.
Rule two. Cool Story Bro.
Rule Three. Needs more Dragons.

I think these rules can come into play here :D
Image

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#8 » 22 Mar 2012, 19:52

Fandin wrote:Rule One. Dont be shit.
Rule two. Cool Story Bro.
Rule Three. Needs more Dragons.

I think these rules can come into play here :D



Rule 4: Gingers have no soul

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#9 » 23 Mar 2012, 22:37

Updated :(
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#10 » 29 Oct 2012, 18:55

Heyy, the nvidia crashes are back again! :D

Doing a full format and re-install to try and get this shit working properly again.

I've spent about 20 hours just installing / re-installing drivers to different effects lol.

All started happening after one of the GW2 updates. :X

Done so many hardware tests as well and everything looks like it's working fine outside of GW2.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Contact:

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#11 » 30 Oct 2012, 13:26

GW2 makes my gfx card scream. its a mean card rapist.
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#12 » 30 Oct 2012, 15:05

Full format and re-install of windows and stuff.

Happened again today after about an hour or so of playing.

GG

I'm using MSI Kombustor to run some more tests.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Sovaka
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 105

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#13 » 30 Oct 2012, 15:43

SmartDrive sounds like a motherboard fault.

If you have a spare machine, plug your SSD into it, fresh install and all that garb.
Use your same gfx card and see if you get a crash.

If you do, you know its another fantastic job by nVidia.

If you don't, then you can safely conclude there is an issue with your motherboard.
Designing my own game still...
Codename: Planetarian
Aussie Genesis | Ogre3D Dev Thread

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13987

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#14 » 30 Oct 2012, 16:02

Hey Sov, that was a bit of red herring apparently.

The core problem is something to do with either graphics card, or the drivers :P (I'm guessing drivers)
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Sovaka
LotRO Officer
LotRO Officer
Posts: 105

Re: Stupid Computers

Post#15 » 30 Oct 2012, 16:36

I'd have to say drivers...

I haven't upgraded to the latest nVidia drivers yet (loads their page and starts downloading).
But their previous drivers have had my cards running hotter than normal.
Designing my own game still...
Codename: Planetarian
Aussie Genesis | Ogre3D Dev Thread

Return to “Tech Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Login  •  Register