Bragging

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Bragging

Post#1 » 13 Aug 2010, 01:36

upgrading my PC ATM

Here is what it will be

CPU: Intel i7 930 2.8 Ghz (going to overclock to 4.0Ghz probably)
Mobo: GA-X58A-UD3R
RAM: G.Skill 1600 Mhz 3x2GB DDR3
GPU: Geforce 280 GTX
PSU: Corsair TX-750
Cooling: Corsair H50
SSD: G.Skill Phoenix Pro 60GB
HDD: Spinpoint F3 1TB
HDD: Trash 1TB for torrents GF downloads
Case: Silverstone FT02

Got 1/2 of it on the floor or in my case already. Just waiting for the other parts to get here. Maybe going SLI 460's later, but might just wait to see what nvidia do next, cause I think the 280 GTX goes pretty good still.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Demandread
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 5753

Re: Bragging

Post#2 » 13 Aug 2010, 07:19

nice, i7 920's are awesome.

Had mine sitting at 3.6ghz for ages with turbo still active and auto voltage, work lovely and never got hot. Just put it up to 4Ghz a few weeks ago was very easy to achieve, just turned off turbo and bumped up the voltage to 1.25v core and 1.21v vtt.
Image

User avatar
Fitz
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2813

Re: Bragging

Post#3 » 13 Aug 2010, 08:18

For the nubcakes here, (aka me), SSDs I know are better for gaming - but do you put your OS on that drive as well? Or just have the OS on the 1GB drive, and install games you want to run better on the SSD? As SSDs are alot smaller capacity than normal HDDs, how do you fit all your games on them?

Also, got any costings on those bits n pieces?

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#4 » 13 Aug 2010, 09:18

Nah you put your OS on the SSD so you get awesome boot times with windows and windows in general will just be a lot quicker.
After putting windows on there you fill the rest up with programs you use a lot or games.

SSD + games is only generally a speed increase on loading times, so you might just want to whack whatever MMO you are playing heavily at the time and whatever else can fit, steam wouldn't be a good idea.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
WasteGate
Guild Master
Guild Master
Posts: 1678
Contact:

Re: Bragging

Post#5 » 13 Aug 2010, 09:42

Buy this off me, currently for sale on OCAU.

Specs are as follows:
Intel E8400 (Res:$80)(Inst:$100)
2x 4GB Dual-Channel (8GB total) A-DATA Gaming Series DDR2-800 kits (Res:$100 each)(Inst:$120 each)
EVGA 750i SLI FTW motherboard (Res:$80)(Inst:$110) tez315@instant
2x Gigabyte GeForce GTX260 (216 Stream Processors) SLI ($130 each)(Inst:$150 each)
2x Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB WD3000GLFS (still have 3yrs warranty) (Res:$150 each)(Inst:$175 each) icontact@$320
CoolerMaster CM 690 Nvidia Edition case with 4x Scythe S-FLEX 120mm Fan SFF21E (Res:$50)(Inst:$70) cactus@reserve
Pioneer DVR-215 20X DVD/CD SATA (Inst:$20)
Corsair TX-750 750W Power Supply (Res:$100)(Inst:$130) tez315@instant
Zalman MFC2 Fan Controller (Inst:$50)

Complete System
Reserve: $1000
Instant: $1200
Join the Southern Cross Steam group or find us on Facebook

Image

<SWG 2003-2009> <EQ2 2005-2006> <WoW 2005-2015>
<LotRO 2007-2009> <AoC 2008-2009> <WAR 2008-2010>
<World of Tanks 2011-
premium> <SW:ToR 2011-active>
<TESO 2014-2014>

User avatar
WasteGate
Guild Master
Guild Master
Posts: 1678
Contact:

Re: Bragging

Post#6 » 13 Aug 2010, 09:50

By the way in regards to SSD's Windows 7 has an awesome new feature that you can create sym links like in Unix. So what I have done is installed everything on the SSD (I have 2x120gb in Raid 0) and I have a 7200rpm 1TB disk as well, then use this http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2010/02/mo ... windows-7/.
What happens is you move the users directory to your normal disc, then create a sym link on the c:\Users to d:\Users.
All the setting like internet cache and tmp files for your user will get written to your d:\ so your SSD performance doesn't degrade too much.

Also what I do is, I install all games on my SSD and when I'm not playing them as much I have a d:\program files (x86)\whatevergame symlinked to my c drive.
As far as the operating system and every other app they all think it's on the C:\

Hope it makes sense.

Wastey :D
Join the Southern Cross Steam group or find us on Facebook

Image

<SWG 2003-2009> <EQ2 2005-2006> <WoW 2005-2015>
<LotRO 2007-2009> <AoC 2008-2009> <WAR 2008-2010>
<World of Tanks 2011-
premium> <SW:ToR 2011-active>
<TESO 2014-2014>

nucleon
Bloodsail Admiral
Bloodsail Admiral
Posts: 1144

Re: Bragging

Post#7 » 15 Aug 2010, 11:26

Secro - awesome machine.

I have that cpu + mboard.

It's sweet.

I also have crappy nvidia 96000GT. But I don't play FPS. It's aok for WoW/SC.

-- Craig
CoV - Soundspeed (Son/Kin Cor)
CoH - Ms Taken (Storm/NRG Def) GoldenRock (Rock/Rock Tank)
WoW - Omikron (Druid) KappaOmikron (Shaman)
Image

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#8 » 15 Aug 2010, 12:34

hey Deman,

What is the minimum i would have to do for a 3.6ghz overclock?

I heard just change the blk to 190 and 20x multi?

Does that sound right?
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#9 » 15 Aug 2010, 12:36

nucleon wrote:Secro - awesome machine.

I have that cpu + mboard.

It's sweet.

I also have crappy nvidia 96000GT. But I don't play FPS. It's aok for WoW/SC.

-- Craig


Yeah, I wanted a kick ass machine for the MMO's coming out next year :P

Probably should of waited till they arrived, but I wanted new toys to play with :p
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

nucleon
Bloodsail Admiral
Bloodsail Admiral
Posts: 1144

Re: Bragging

Post#10 » 15 Aug 2010, 13:00

Wouldn't be ToR would it? :)

-- Craig
CoV - Soundspeed (Son/Kin Cor)
CoH - Ms Taken (Storm/NRG Def) GoldenRock (Rock/Rock Tank)
WoW - Omikron (Druid) KappaOmikron (Shaman)
Image

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#11 » 15 Aug 2010, 18:31

Rift and ToR yeah :)
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#12 » 17 Aug 2010, 11:00

Upgrade complete :O

SSD speed is freaking crazy. Can't wait till they replace traditional HDD's altogether :D

Now I want to monitor my temps on the i7 930 with the corsair h50 cooling it. It's weird hearing a slight splashing noise when I start it up lol. After I get an idea on what it's running at idle and under load I'll look at OC'ing it to about 3.6ghz and see how it goes, then the next step is to turn it into a 4.0ghz beast like deman's :D

Then I want to look at 460's in SLI ....
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Contact:

Re: Bragging

Post#13 » 17 Aug 2010, 14:46

LOL you make my PC feel so old even if it does play every game out there just fine. go go E8600!
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988

Re: Bragging

Post#14 » 17 Aug 2010, 15:30

Mine was an E8600 toooo :D, or maybe it was an E8500.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

drakatar
High Overlord
High Overlord
Posts: 116

Re: Bragging

Post#15 » 18 Aug 2010, 17:23

Not too shabby, but not really bragging level...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Login  •  Register