Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
Invert
I Am Legendary
I Am Legendary
Posts: 530
Joined: 05 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Invert » 21 May 2008, 10:22

Hey ppl,

Here are the specs for my current comp:

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6420 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs)
2GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT (sucks i know)

I've been trying to tweak the settings in AoC to help run it, but for the most part I am getting 5-20fps on medium settings. I had no issues with LOTRO, but AOC just seems to crumble with my system.

Now, regarding a new system, I've heard the best place to buy ready-made machines (I have no idea about compatibility etc) is www.msy.com.au - and there are some nice ones for 1-2k there. My budget is around the 1.5-2k mark, but i want something that is going to last a good long while (longer than my current one, which sucks after just 18 months).

I'm thinking along the lines of a dual core high speed with a GeForce 9800GTX and 4gb ram if i can.

Let me know what you guys think.
AOC: Invert - Assassin // Level 54 // Server: Bloodspire
LOTRO: Invert - Dwarf Guardian // Level 50 // Server: Elendilmir
LOTRO: Invertz - Human Lore Master // Level 41 // Server: Elendilmir

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 20:41
Location: Sydney

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Secro » 21 May 2008, 11:46

Sounds like a PLAN.
Make sure you grab 64 bit vista and update drives to match to support all that RAM.
Try and get 2 hdd as well ;)

Graphics card is really letting your existing team down.
I'm pretty much running everything else the same as you.

Holding off for an upgrade till about Jan for me though =D
But my gfx card is good.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Invert
I Am Legendary
I Am Legendary
Posts: 530
Joined: 05 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Invert » 21 May 2008, 11:51

Hmmm, if I was to just get a new graphics card, and then wait until next year to get a new rig (i'm probably moving back to Sydney then, so may be a more viable option), would it be a better idea? Or is the 2.1ghz too slow?

Is it easy to change vid cards?
AOC: Invert - Assassin // Level 54 // Server: Bloodspire
LOTRO: Invert - Dwarf Guardian // Level 50 // Server: Elendilmir
LOTRO: Invertz - Human Lore Master // Level 41 // Server: Elendilmir

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 20:41
Location: Sydney

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Secro » 21 May 2008, 15:24

No, i think 2.1 (dual core) is fine for this generation of games.

Upgrading just the graphics card is very viable for you.

Pull the card out, plug the new one in. It's really a simple process.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Riedacher
Herald of the Titans
Herald of the Titans
Posts: 2619
Joined: 14 Dec 2005, 22:55
Location: Melbourne

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Riedacher » 21 May 2008, 16:25

how did you get a smiley face in your beer
PUNKKID IS MY MAGE

User avatar
Invert
I Am Legendary
I Am Legendary
Posts: 530
Joined: 05 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Invert » 21 May 2008, 16:26

Riedacher wrote:how did you get a smiley face in your beer


I'm good with my fingers...if you know what i mean...;)

Cheers Secro, going to my local to pick up an 8800GT tonight...should make quite a bit of difference and is only $240. :D
AOC: Invert - Assassin // Level 54 // Server: Bloodspire
LOTRO: Invert - Dwarf Guardian // Level 50 // Server: Elendilmir
LOTRO: Invertz - Human Lore Master // Level 41 // Server: Elendilmir

Tilania
The Patient
The Patient
Posts: 289
Joined: 07 May 2008, 09:21
Location: Canberra

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Tilania » 21 May 2008, 16:27

New Nivida cards out 14th June, hang fire till then and prices on lower spec models will fall.

Also if you can throw another 2 gb of ram in there, its cheap anyhoo and will make a diff even in xp
Image

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 12:27
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Kashak » 21 May 2008, 17:08

Invert wrote:Hey ppl,

Here are the specs for my current comp:

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6420 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs)
2GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT (sucks i know)



The biggest bang for buck improvement you can do on your current system is a new GFX card. My machine is virtually identical to yours except it is using an 8800GTS.

I get decent framerates with most things turned a fair way up, textures high, asintropic filtering, low shadows from everything. High detail draw distance is fairly low though.
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Spyder
Elemental Lord
Elemental Lord
Posts: 8944
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 23:07
Location: Bris Vegas
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Spyder » 21 May 2008, 19:15

Invert wrote:going to my local to pick up an 8800GT tonight...should make quite a bit of difference and is only $240. :D

Since this is a temp upgrade go the 9600gt instead, it's cheaper and very very close performance wise ;)

although it's probably too late by now and you've already gone off to buy it.
Spyder - Pally Healer, WoW Blackrock (retired lv70)

User avatar
Silurin
Mechagnome
Mechagnome
Posts: 615
Joined: 01 Sep 2007, 09:49
Location: Canberra, Aus

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Silurin » 21 May 2008, 22:31

Invert wrote:Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit . . .
. . . 2GB RAM
Vista needs 2GB RAM just to wake up in the morning. On top of the new vid card grab some more RAM and make sure you turn Vista into a real OS by turning all the extraneous shit off. There's plenty of sites out there with any number of settings which will help the overall performance and reduce the RAM used by Vista.
LOTRO - Elendilmir : The Secret World : Guild Wars 2 - IoJ : WoW - Dath'Remar : DDO - Khyber : AoC - Bloodspire : WAR - Ironclaw
Silyth - Lvl 85 Warden : Silurin Maelhach - Lvl 70 Champion : Falyme - Chaos/AR : Falyme - Warrior : Falyme - Lvl 70 Undead Rogue : Rajeal - Lvl 9 Bard / 2 Rogue : Dralion - Lvl 74 Tempest of Set : Skelm - Lvl 28 Disciple of Khaine

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 20:41
Location: Sydney

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Secro » 21 May 2008, 23:43

so i closed firefox, checked out my mem usage while I'm on vista

and it was using a whole 506mb of ram, now also running is the wireless network software, and 2 logitech programs.

It's not that much of a mem whore as people make out it is =)
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Kashak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9658
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 12:27
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Kashak » 22 May 2008, 08:52

Silurin wrote:
Invert wrote:Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit . . .
. . . 2GB RAM
Vista needs 2GB RAM just to wake up in the morning. On top of the new vid card grab some more RAM and make sure you turn Vista into a real OS by turning all the extraneous shit off. There's plenty of sites out there with any number of settings which will help the overall performance and reduce the RAM used by Vista.


I wouldnt trust those programs. Vistas RAM management is very smart. It will preload RAM and fill it with all sorts of junk you 'might' be going to use instead of leaving it idle and empty. When you load up AoC it will dump out a ton of that preloaded stuff to make way for AoC. As a whole , yes, Vista does take up more RAM but all those programs will do is switch off a lot of stuff that MS put in there to make things better for you.

For some reason people think unused RAM means their computer is faster. I dont know why.
Live! Kashak PSN Kash_Surgeon
Steam Surg3on / Kashak
Old stuff: CoH - Professor Magma, WoW - Kashak, Kashuk, WAR - Kashak (Magus), Rift - Kashtekur
Bishop AKA Jackdin AKA Autekur 1979-2011. Miss you.

User avatar
Silurin
Mechagnome
Mechagnome
Posts: 615
Joined: 01 Sep 2007, 09:49
Location: Canberra, Aus

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Silurin » 22 May 2008, 16:27

I don't use any tweaking programs as such. Many of the sites that are available for Vista just have a range of suggested apps, services and registry settings that can be changed to suit individual tastes. Personally I like to disable anything I don't specifically use.
LOTRO - Elendilmir : The Secret World : Guild Wars 2 - IoJ : WoW - Dath'Remar : DDO - Khyber : AoC - Bloodspire : WAR - Ironclaw
Silyth - Lvl 85 Warden : Silurin Maelhach - Lvl 70 Champion : Falyme - Chaos/AR : Falyme - Warrior : Falyme - Lvl 70 Undead Rogue : Rajeal - Lvl 9 Bard / 2 Rogue : Dralion - Lvl 74 Tempest of Set : Skelm - Lvl 28 Disciple of Khaine

User avatar
WasteGate
Guild Master
Guild Master
Posts: 1678
Joined: 04 May 2005, 17:48
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by WasteGate » 26 May 2008, 21:07

http://www.win2008workstation.com/wordpress/

I'll let you know how it goes as I'm building a new PC over the next week and am game to give this a try.
Performance is meant to be better and less of a footprint to install. :|

Rockitt
Mechagnome
Mechagnome
Posts: 574
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 13:43
Location: Brisbane

Re: Considering buying a new rig - need opinions

Post by Rockitt » 28 May 2008, 10:41

I installed Vista Ultimate 64 last week on my new rig and it only used 500MB memory when idle. Much better than the 1GB+ OS usage I'd heard about.

Of course, I had a black screen of death (Google it) and couldn't fix it, so installed WinXP 32 instead. It's not like AoC will support DX10 till September anyway. :roll:
More alts than you can beat with dual wielded Thrash Blades.

Post Reply