Studying for a cisco cert? Dynamips/Dynagen

Got a question to ask of a technical nature? Want to show off your new PC specs? This forum is open to all users of the SC forums.
Post Reply
nucleon
Bloodsail Admiral
Bloodsail Admiral
Posts: 1144
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 19:06
Location: Brisbane, Oztralia

Studying for a cisco cert? Dynamips/Dynagen

Post by nucleon » 21 Apr 2008, 20:49

For those studying any cisco certs, dynagen and dynamips are highly recomended.

And don't forget to muck around with the idle pc values - it works wonders.

-- Craig
CoV - Soundspeed (Son/Kin Cor)
CoH - Ms Taken (Storm/NRG Def) GoldenRock (Rock/Rock Tank)
WoW - Omikron (Druid) KappaOmikron (Shaman)
Image

User avatar
Fellhahn
Warchief
Warchief
Posts: 2013
Joined: 18 Jan 2005, 14:32
Location: Melbourne

Post by Fellhahn » 21 Apr 2008, 21:48

Before I DL and no doubt flood myself with information, what level cert/understanding is this aimed at?
Image

nucleon
Bloodsail Admiral
Bloodsail Admiral
Posts: 1144
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 19:06
Location: Brisbane, Oztralia

Post by nucleon » 28 Apr 2008, 21:11

Sorry for delay. Forgot about this thread.

But Dynamips/Dynagen is a cisco router simulation. I was playing around with it (at the time of the first message) and it's very good.

It's a great to practice with routing protocols and redistribution. Helps heaps with learning cisco kit. And also simulating what you may have to setup for a client too.

-- Craig
CoV - Soundspeed (Son/Kin Cor)
CoH - Ms Taken (Storm/NRG Def) GoldenRock (Rock/Rock Tank)
WoW - Omikron (Druid) KappaOmikron (Shaman)
Image

User avatar
Jaymo
Herald of the Titans
Herald of the Titans
Posts: 2682
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 02:14
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by Jaymo » 05 May 2008, 22:08

Thanks heaps, I'm doing CCNA II right now :).
ESO: @Jaymo89 (Aldmeri Dominion)
WoW: Jaymonkey (Pandaren Monk)
XBL: JaymoAus
PSN: Jaymo

User avatar
Secro
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13988
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 20:41
Location: Sydney

Post by Secro » 06 May 2008, 09:27

Wish i did the Cisco cert when i was in a good position to do it.
But I'm full time employee in IT now so I'm just picking this stuff up when i need too.
Steam: MrSecro | PSN: Secro

User avatar
Fellhahn
Warchief
Warchief
Posts: 2013
Joined: 18 Jan 2005, 14:32
Location: Melbourne

Post by Fellhahn » 06 May 2008, 16:58

Secro wrote:Wish i did the Cisco cert when i was in a good position to do it.
But I'm full time employee in IT now so I'm just picking this stuff up when i need too.


*Ahem* I may happen to have the install files for semesters 1- 4 of CCNA "Exploration" (the supposedly more technical path for learning CCNA, vs "Discovery", the other of Cisco's two official curriculums) available if you ever wanted to learn at self pace from home.
Image

User avatar
Fujin
Field Marshal
Field Marshal
Posts: 72
Joined: 12 May 2008, 14:30

Re: Studying for a cisco cert? Dynamips/Dynagen

Post by Fujin » 23 May 2008, 09:49

Shame it can't emulate the 6500 platform, also, GNS3 is a nicer UI to dynamips/dynagen.
Image
AoC (inactive): Fujin Assassin, Bloodspire (Lotus/General)
LOTRO (inactive): Fujin (50LM), Astarya (50Hnt)

Post Reply